Board of directors

structuur Haven Oostende nv van publiek recht

Port Oostende nv of public law

Port Oostende, nv of Public Law is 100% shareholder of:

REBO nv en MultiTech nv

and owns 25% of the shares in Ostend Science Park









A dynamic team of 13 directors

On 12 February 2019 the then Autonomous Municipal Authority Port Oostende was transformed into a public limited company under public law. A new board of directors was composed of 13 members: 6 municipal councillors; 6 independents and Dirk Declerck, the managing director.

This multidisciplinary board of directors contains a mix of competencies from the business community, government bodies, academia and the legal world.

The six municipal councillors are: 

  •  Mayor Bart Tommelein (Open VLD) 
  • Alderman of the Port Charlotte Verkeyn (N-VA) 
  • Alan Van Laer (Open VLD)
  • Steven Nagels (N-VA)
  • Wouter De Vriendt (Groen) 
  • An Casteleyn (CD&V)

To introduce more expertise six independent directors have been chosen

  • Bart Brackx, ex-topman of Jetair and the West European department of the TUI-group
  • professor Dr Carl Devos, political scientist and representative of UGent in West-Flanders
  • Lisa Devriese, senior scientific officer policy information at the Flanders Marine Institute
  • Hannelore Hochepied, Chief of Operations Commissioner Oostende Police Area
  • Kathy Van Damme, operational manager at Vlaams Energiebedrijf
  • Prof Dr Eric Van Hooydonk, lecturer in port and maritime law.



Raad van Bestuur - Haven Oostende